He is here!


Growing up I attended a Catholic school until middle school. We attended church and God was in our life. You would think that meant there was a strong chance I would grow up being a Christian.

But I wasn’t.

As I went off to college, got married and started a family, God was nowhere in my life. In fact, I wasn’t sure what I believed. Sometimes I thought, “God is probably watching” as I treated someone unkindly or lied, but then I thought, “What does it matter? Who knows if there is even a God?” I would think of Grandma Appel up in heaven upset with me more than worrying about God and his repercussions.

But you know what, God was always there.

Like the other millions, we attended church after the Sept. 11 attacks looking for some sort of solace, some sort of hope. It didn’t seem to bring us any, so we stopped attending.

But you know what, God was always there.

The stress of kids, work and marriage started grinding down on both my husband and I. We would talk about divorce during a heated fight because we were both tired of it all and each other.

But you know what, God was always there.

A couple years ago one of the girls’ reading teachers sent us a handwritten note over the summer inviting them to attend Vacation Bible School. I thought, “Wow. That’s a sweet gesture.” Plus they had offered to shuffle the girls back and forth from church and daycare. How could I say no, right?

God was always there.

Everyday the girls would come home excited about something they’d learned, some project they had worked on, some friend they had made, and I thought, “Wow, this church seems sort of neat.”

Because God is always there.

We thought we might check out the church just to see what the girls were so excited about. Maybe we could learn something and some of that excitement would rub off. The first services we attended blew me away. God was talking to me through the sermon, through the music, through the people.

Because God is always here.

That kind couple who offered to shuffle the girls around? They have become such dear friends, wonderful mentors, cheerleaders, listeners and question answerers.

Because God is always here.

That miserable marriage that was dragging all of us down (including our children) is amazingly beautiful today. We have learned more about what true marriage should look like through our church classes then we ever had in a lifetime of learning before. When we study God’s word in the Bible and apply it to our lives, amazing things  happen.

Because God is always here.

That unhappy, unkind person inside of me is gone replaced with the hope and knowledge that any worry I have is best handed over to God.  He’s got a master plan for me and there’s no need to worry about tomorrow. He loved me even when I was ugly and unkind.

Because He is here!

This post started as I was thinking about Easter and what it means to me. Jesus suffered on the cross and arose. And that means

HE IS HERE!

HE IS HERE FOR ME!

HE IS HERE FOR YOU!

I am praising God this morning because I don’t have to be that broken, unhappy dark soul anymore. He is here!

About megcorey

A working wife and mother of elementary-aged twin sweeties. Working on life, family, friends and growing my faith with a few stumbles and triumphs along the way.
This entry was posted in Religion, Thankful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to He is here!

  1. RaZella says:

    Hi there, I came across your post from the BlogHop from Proverbs31. I LOVE this. Your testimony is very touching and encouraging. I found in my life, that God was certainly always there, and it is so true, when we study His word, and apply it, amazing things truly do happen. Hope you will join in future BlogHops through the Made to Crave study!

  2. Love your Jesus Saves story! Our God is awesome and you are right God is always here. Praying for you as you begin your Made To Crave journey.
    Blessings,
    Denise OBS Small Group Leader & Blog Hop Team

Leave a Reply

