Chalk Paint, I Love You


I’m jumping on the bandwagon. I am officially a fan of Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint. I felt like a kid on Christmas Day when I opened up the box sitting on my front porch full of the good stuff.

I started working on some projects last night and had so much fun!This lovely little chair only cost me $5 at a local thrift store. (I saved you from the horrible looking cushion that was on there before. GROSS!)With a coat of Old Ochre topped with Duck Egg Blue and some wax, here’s what I got.

I actually worked on four different projects last night because the paint dries so quickly. They’re each in various stages of completeness, but I’ll update as I finish them.

Chalk paint is a bit pricey, but I found I didn’t have to use much. You also save a ton of time because you don’t need to sand before painting and it dries so fast, you can continue to work on the project instead of taking drying breaks.

I ordered my Ultimate Chalk Paint kit from Shades of Amber in Colorado. It was delivered in less than a week and they threw in some helpful tips and tricks as well. The kit comes with three pots of paint (you pick the colors), a dark wax, a clear wax, a wax brush and one of Annie Sloan’s books.

If you have the inclination and spare change, I say take the leap and try it. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed!

About megcorey

A working wife and mother of elementary-aged twin sweeties. Working on life, family, friends and growing my faith with a few stumbles and triumphs along the way.
This entry was posted in DIY. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

