Looking forward to my ‘summer’


I’m reading a really neat book called, Spiritual Rhythm: Being with Jesus Every Season of Your Soul by Mark Buchanan. I’m enjoying it and I seem to find an “ah ha” moment every time I crack it open (?) on my Kindle.

Great, great book!

He talks about growing and keeping our faith and utilizes the ideas of seasons. He explains that summer is a time of pure enjoyment. There’s bounty and time to enjoy the bounty. I’ve had times like these, and luckily the older I get, the more I recognize and enjoy them.

He goes on to say that often times there’s scary, messy stuff that happens before summer. There’s a “tempest, an earthquake, a typhoon,” that scares us off and we run and hide from the hard stuff. He asks, “Is God doing big and messy and disruptive things in your life right now?” Looking at my previous post about CASA training, I can absolutely say, “YES!”

This is hard. Not only the time commitment, but the information overload, the reality of it all and the constant questions that run through your mind. Buchanan warns us that by hiding from what God’s asking us to do, we actually miss out on summer time. He says, “Maybe it would be better instead to ask God for strength to endure it.”

He then provides a quote from Jesus (Luke 21:14-15, 18, 28)…

Make up your mind not to worry beforehand how you will defend yourselves. For I will give you words and wisdom…Not a hair of your head will perish…when these things begin to take place, stand up and lift up your heads, because your redemption is drawing near.

I have so appreciated all the supportive posts and emails from those cheering me on. I’ve been prayerful and will keep pushing forward with help from my wonderful friends, family and of course, God.

About megcorey

A working wife and mother of elementary-aged twin sweeties. Working on life, family, friends and growing my faith with a few stumbles and triumphs along the way.
This entry was posted in Religion, Volunteering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

