Meat Mondays


How many of you have heard of Meatless Mondays? According to meatlessmondays.com it’s a movement of people “banding together to cut meat for personal health and the health of the planet.”

I realize that this is only giving meat up on Mondays, but I’m not sure I could even do that. Just last night we enjoyed a yummy steak, and I thought to myself, “How do people give this up!?”

Steak for dinner? Yes, yes, yes!

With this in mind, I was interested to read that a new survey from the Center for Food Integrity found that almost 20 percent of the 274 responders said they support the idea of Meatless Monday. I didn’t feel out of the majority when I read half said they support a balance of all foods including meat. A third of responders said meat is a “regular feature” in their diet. “Regular feature” in my diet? Yes, please!

Some argue that going meatless saves the environment. I have to say I don’t agree with that argument. For more information, check out Steak Out the Facts. Here’s one myth and fact highlighted on their site…

Myth
Meat production is a large contributor of greenhouse gases.

Fact
Animal agriculture has minimal impact on greenhouse gas production in the United States. All animals naturally produce the greenhouse gas methane by way of food digestion, but according to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the entire U.S. agricultural sector contributed only 6.4 percent of total U.S. greenhouse gas emissions in 2006.

Consumers may also hear that animals raised in a feedlot or in modern production systems create more methane than animals raised alternative ways. According to a report on beef released by the Hudson Institute’s Center For Global Food Issues, pound-for-pound, beef produced in a conventional feeding system generates 40 percent less greenhouse gas emissions and uses two-thirds less land than beef produced using organic and grass-fed production systems.

For me, there won’t be any meatless Mondays in my future, and I’m thankful I have that option for a choice. Yummo!

About megcorey

A working wife and mother of elementary-aged twin sweeties. Working on life, family, friends and growing my faith with a few stumbles and triumphs along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

