Handing it over to God


I'm giving it over to God

Those around me know I can be a worry wart. I’ve tried to overcome this tendency and I think I’m slowly, slowly getting better. There are times I realize I still have a long way to go.

The family and I have been house hunting for six months or so. We’ve found a few houses, but nothing’s panned out. We’re on the offer roller coaster again, and I find myself thinking, stressing, analyzing….just plain OBSESSING about the house, our house, the offer, the budget, the kids, the schools, the yard, etc., etc., etc.

I decided to look for some direction from God and found this verse from Philippians 4:6.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Couple things stand out.

  1. Be anxious for nothing…: Is this really something I should worry about? Do I really have any control over it? No and No!
  2. …prayer and supplication with thanksgiving…: Give it over to God with prayer and thanksgiving. That’s right! I should be thankful for what I have already. I should be thankful that we can even consider looking for a new house, and in all reality, our little house will be just fine until something comes along. And I should pray to God about it and know he’s in charge.

So here is my internal prayer…Thank you Lord for all you provide our family. We have more than enough and are so lucky. Thank you for the many blessings you provide, and help me to give these worries over to you knowing you will move and direct us where we need to be. Amen.

I feel better already. Now I’ll redirect myself to this post whenever I feel that obsessive little elf popping its head up again.

About megcorey

A working wife and mother of elementary-aged twin sweeties. Working on life, family, friends and growing my faith with a few stumbles and triumphs along the way.
This entry was posted in Religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

