‘You shall be the miracle’


Another Monday is here. Look at the to-do list, check my emails and start the day. Then I notice an email from someone I haven’t talked with in over a year. Hmmm…she’s had some major changes in her life. Traumatic, sad, major changes. She knows I’m chairing a fundraiser for our local emergency shelter next year and has some things she’d like to donate.

underwater view of sun rays

I give her a call and we talk about her “new” life…and she says something interesting in a sad but firm voice, “I’m just trying to figure out where I go next.”

As we get off the phone I wonder what the right things to say are. I have no idea how she’s coping with her life right now. I’ve never dealt with the pain she’s dealing with.

Then I see a tweet come from Michael Hyatt that says “Do not pray for an easy life. Here’s why:” It says:

“Do not pray for easy lives. Pray to be stronger men. Do not pray for tasks equal to your powers. Pray for powers equal to your tasks. Then the doing of your work shall be no miracle, but you shall be the miracle.”

— Phillips Brooks
U.S. Episcopal bishop (1835–1893)
Even though she doesn’t know, she’s already a miracle because she’s not giving up. She’s moving forward and looking for her new spot.
About megcorey

A working wife and mother of elementary-aged twin sweeties. Working on life, family, friends and growing my faith with a few stumbles and triumphs along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘You shall be the miracle’

  1. Melissa says:

    Your blog is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

