Am I strong enough?


Next year I’m going to start a new adventure–volunteering for the Sunflower CASA Project. I’ve been thinking about it for years but was never sure I was strong enough.

Do you know what CASA stands for? They are Court-Appointed Special Advocates who advocate for abused and neglected children in the court system.

I’m fearful about what I’m going to hear, what I’m going to see and if I can handle it.

I spoke with my parents about this last night and they reminded me of a neighbor of ours that took in foster kids. For 2 years they had a darling little girl who came into their home. She was born addicted to crack and had developmental issues because of it. They loved on and nurtured this little girl for 2 years. Then she was placed back with her family. And a year later she was dead.

Can I handle the reality of it? I’m really not sure…and I’m really scared. But I feel like it’s calling me and so I have to try.

Thoughts, advice and prayers are welcome.

About megcorey

A working wife and mother of elementary-aged twin sweeties. Working on life, family, friends and growing my faith with a few stumbles and triumphs along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Am I strong enough?

  1. Pingback: Full speed ahead | Ah me oh my

  2. Pingback: CASA step 1 | Ah me oh my

Leave a Reply

